The Graduate (1967)

The Graduate (1967) — I made it 24 years somehow without seeing this movie and now that I finally have I love it.  While Hoffman may have been a bit ethnically mismatched with the actors who played his extremely WASP-ish parents, I haven’t ever seen someone better reflect the ennui that sets in when everyone suddenly has their own ideas about what you should do with your life.  Anne Bancroft played Mrs. Robinson with a great blend of sex appeal and total iciness. And the ending is pure brilliance.  I don’t know a whole lot about what I want out of love in my life, but I think it’s safe to say I want someone who will take a great blind leap into the unknown with me.

Leave a Reply

