Food, Inc. (2008)

Food, Inc. (2008) — Ew.  Ew.  Ew.  Ew.  Ew.  Holy shit.  There was a lot in this movie I already knew but a lot more that I didn’t know.  Apparently food libel laws are insane and a food manufacturer can sue the shit out of you for anything disparaging you might have to say about their products.  I expect horrible unethically grown food products when I get McDonald’s (I’m still convinced that McNuggets are made out of people, but that hasn’t stopped me from eating them) but the shit you buy in the supermarket is horrible.  The worst thing I heard: 1 in 3 children born after 2000 will get diabetes.  1 in 2 for minorities.  It is truly disturbing how it is so much cheaper to eat shit that kills you than to eat healthy.  At least the film offers something in the way of solutions, but I don’t necessarily have enough faith in humanity to think we can fix the problem without regulatory intervention.  E. coli outbreaks and meat recalls have multiplied… actually fuck just regurgitating the statistics.  See the damn movie yourselves.  It’s heavy-handed at times but unsettlingly informative.

Leave a Reply

