Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call – New Orleans (2009)

Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call – New Orleans (2009) — So Nicolas Cage can be good in movies, like Lord of War.  Sometimes, like in Matchstick Men, he can be damn good in movies.  He CAN be.  More often than not, he isn’t.  He’s just playing up the “I’m Nicholas Cage, isn’t that weird?” factor.  Innate weirdness may work for Chistopher Walken or Crispin Glover, but they’re Christopher Walken and Crispin Glover.  Nicolas Cage is Nicolas Cage and it just doesn’t work that way for him.  Movies like National Treasure or Windtalkers, it’s painful to watch him in.  I had this pegged as being one of the good Cage movies, potentially as one of the damn good Cage movies.  But it’s not.  It’s hard to say.  Werner Herzog tends to make films for a very narrow audience and I find myself not in his camp on this one.  There are things to like and large stretches of this movie play like a really dark comedy (iguana vision comes to mind).  Those scenes almost make the movie work for me, but it’s all a lot of darkness that doesn’t add up to anything.  The weird thing is I can’t say as I was expected anything radically different than what I got.  This is pretty much the movie as I expected it to be, but there’s a weird disconnect.  It sounded like something I’d be into but it just wasn’t.

Leave a Reply

