A Single Man (2009)

A Single Man (2009) — A sad beautiful movie.  I’ll never understand how a first-time director who was previously a fashion designer hit it so far out the park on his first time at bat.  Colin Firth is revelatory.  I had never seen him in anything with any more depth than your standard romantic comedy fare but he turns in a powerful yet restrained performance as George Falconer.  I wasn’t around in the 60s so I can’t speak to any sort of period accuracy but this film has timeless truths that transcend its period setting.  I loved this movie.  I know Jeff Bridges is going to win the Oscar and he probably deserves it but I am rooting for Firth.

Leave a Reply

