The Karate Kid (2010)

The Karate Kid (2010) — First off let me say that original film doesn’t hold any special place in my heart like it seems to for some people. I just enjoy over-the-top cheesiness, 80s style. So this remake wasn’t treading on sacred ground for me. Even so, it’s a deeply flawed film. Firstly the at several points mention that the kid is NOT learning karate, but kung fu so the title doesn’t even fit (but if you’re going to milk an already-existing franchise I guess The Kung Fu Kid was too subtle). Second despite being good in The Pursuit of Happyness, Jaden Smith can’t really act for shit in this movie. The first hour or so of this movie just drags and bored the hell out of me. Then at about the halfway point it’s like someone flipped a switch and all of a sudden it becomes entertaining. It’s the weirdest thing.  The movie really picks up when Jackie Chan starts training the kid.  Really, it’s one of the most dramatic transitions from sucking to not sucking I think I’ve ever seen in a movie. In the first half I was checking the time to see how much more of this I had to sit through and by the end I was cheering (not literally) for the kid in his big kung fu (again, not karate) tournament.  Then a really shitty song by Justin Bieber and Jaden Smith played over the end credits and I started to hate it again… but from the moment the kid starts his training to right before the end credits this is actually an enjoyable movie. So maybe see it but show up late I guess?

Leave a Reply

