The Princess and the Frog (2009)

The Princess and the Frog (2010) — Caught this on cable and it just made me happy that John Lasseter is now in charge of Disney Animation.  It was just a fun sweet Disney movie, the type I haven’t seen in a long time.  I wouldn’t put it on the same level as the ones I saw when I was a kid, but then again I’m not a kid anymore.  But even my cynical jaded 20-something perspective found a lot to appreciate in this movie.  It’s also nice to see a movie set in New Orleans that isn’t an emotionally draining drama about a city rebuilding itself.  Maybe they overdo it a bit on the N’Awlins local color, but it’s a cartoon.  Subtlety isn’t necessary.  The songs are catchy, if not all that memorable (not counting the annoying Ne-Yo song in the end credits).  Like most Disney movies there are characters who are more “types” than fully realized people, but that’s okay.  The story carries the movie and there’s enough humor in it to make it fun.  Maybe I just have a soft spot for the old-fashioned 2D-animated (or mostly 2D, anyway) movies that I grew up on and it’s good to see that younger generation will get that too.  I’m all for embracing the new and I am a diehard fan of Pixar’s computer animated films, but I think embracing the new doesn’t mean chucking out the old.  For an hour and a half I felt like a kid again and that’s worth something.

Leave a Reply

